26
Dec
08

Looking Forward – Looking Back

Don’t you just love the start of a brand new year?

 

For me it’s always seemed like a blank journal with three hundred-sixty-five crisp, pristine pages, just waiting to be written. While I am not a “resolutions” kind of girl, I do hope to accomplish some things in 2009. I want to worry less, hurry less, and write more. I want to read more books and listen to more music. I want to stretch myself as a writer and see what I can accomplish.

 

Take my latest work in progress. I’m really going out on a limb this time. I’m actually going to write a story with a bona fide happy ending. I might even go so far as to say a “happily ever after” ending. As you may or may not know, when it comes to HEA, I struggle. If you’ve read any of my books I’m sure you’d agree that their endings are best described as happy… sort of. A pessimist by nature, I tend to see the dark side of things and sometimes that darkness carries over into my writing. But this time I just might surprise you. Heck, I might even surprise myself.

 

A new year is a time for looking forward, but who can resist a peek at the past? I heard a song on Classic Rewind today that had me glancing in the rearview. Ever have that happen? Strange, isn’t it, how a song can send you catapulting back in time. I heard the opening rift  of Heart’s Baracuda and suddenly it was 1979 again, and I was this person:

 

 

Jean at sixteen

Jean at sixteen

 

 

 

(I remember this girl. She loved Pat Benatar, Bruce Springsteen, and Fleetwood Mac. She devoured Danielle Steele novels in one setting and read True Story Magazine faithfully every month, cover to cover. She wanted to be a writer, and I’m sure happily ever after figured somewhere into her plan!)

 

Whoever you were, and whoever you are, my wish for you is a healthy, happy and prosperous new year. May you laugh more and worry less in 2009. May you read great books and think lovely thoughts. Mostly, may you find pockets of sunshine in each and every day.

 

Thanks for stopping by!   

 

Jean 

3 Responses to “Looking Forward – Looking Back”


  1. December 26, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. December 26, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Hi, Jean. Your blog looks great. Sometimes a look back is just what we need to spur us into going forward. Lovely post and lovely sentiments. have a happy a prosperous New Year…Keep writing. 🙂 Elizabeth

  3. December 29, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I love your blog and all the effects and love the picture of that delightful,tender-eyed girl of a little while ago (not that long ago, natch). You’re one of my favourite US writers, Jean, and I hope more people discover your work and realise the fact! But why don’t you have Winds of Autumn up with your other works? It will always be my very favourite. Lots of luck for 2009. Lorri


Leave a Reply

