20
Mar
11

Sunrise, Sunset

Lately, the song Sunrise, Sunset from The Fiddler on the Roof has been playing in my mind.

 Is this the little girl I carried? Is this the little boy at play? I don’t remember growing older. When did they?

 When did she get to be a beauty? When did he grow to be so tall? Wasn’t it yesterday when they were small?

Sunrise, sunset. Sunrise, sunset. Swiftly fly the years. One season following another. Laden with happiness and tears…

I guess I’m feeling nostalgic because another milestone is approaching. Eighteen years ago this week I set out on the greatest journey of my life. A baby boy came into the world, and he became my world.

 

Sunrise, sunset, and my beautiful baby became a rambunctious little boy. So many memories fill my mind, this week. Sunny Sunday afternoons when we’d take his little red wagon along the bicycle trail, hunting for crickets and grasshoppers and acorns. Rainy days spent inside making puppets and endless hours of playing Batman until I thought I’d lose my mind. Oh, but I’d take those days back in a minute…

Sunrise, sunset. There were Easter egg hunts, Halloween costumes, Christmas trees and birthday parties. I watched his Little League and La Crosse games.I sat in the auditorium and listened with pride as he read his prize-winning essay. And before I knew it, my little boy was a teenager.

I remember the day he took his driver’s test. I watched as he and the instructor drove off in my car. I waited what seemed an eternity for them to return, not certain whether I wanted the news to be pass or fail. Because in my mind, driving meant driving away…

The journey has not always been easy. The road has not always been smooth. I have not always done the right thing, but I always did the very best I could. I hope he knows that. This week my little boy turns eighteen, and I hope he knows how proud I am of the young man he has become. And that no matter how many years come and go, he will always be my little boy.

Happy Birthday, Noah James. Your mother loves you more than you could know.

0 Responses to “Sunrise, Sunset”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

