It’s Porch Season!

I love the month of May. The cool early mornings while I
drink my coffee to a symphony of bird song and the cuteness of baby bunnies
hopping around my yard. There’s quite a lot going on out there. My blue birds were busy last month getting their nest ready, and mama blue is already sitting on her first batch of eggs!

A couple of weeks ago a pair of robins set their sights on the
downspout and tried to build directly beside the blue bird house, which created
quite a bit of squabbling as mama blue tried to come and go. I had to remove
the start of the robin nest. Thankfully they relocated to the maple tree without much of a fuss.


May also marks the beginning of porch season. When The
Little Things
came out last summer I decided this time I wouldn’t throw my
royalty checks into the household money pot. That’s what my day job is for.
This time, I will use that money for things that bring me joy, as my writing
does. So yesterday I went out and bought my impatiens for my planter boxes, a
fern, a new welcome mat, and a couple of cute throw pillows. It’s the little
things that bring me joy!

With no frost in the forecast as far as I can see, I
also got an early start on my porch tomatoes this year.

My porch is really more of a stoop than a porch, but I enjoy
every square inch of it. I’m looking forward to a lovely season of porch (stoop)
sitting this year. Good coffee, good books, flowers and birds. What more does a writer’s soul need?

Home. Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like it.

2 thoughts on “It’s Porch Season!

Leave a comment