50 Books/50 States

It’s no secret that I love books. I love that reading transports me to places I may not otherwise visit and introduces me to so many interesting people and scenarios.

Between the regular demands of life, working a full-time job, and writing my own stories, I’m usually good for about three books a month, 36 books a year. Last year I heard about a fun challenge; to read fifty books set in fifty different states. I decided to push myself a little further this year and see if I could complete that challenge.

Though I do buy new books from time to time, most of my TBR pile comes from library book sales, yard sales and thrift stores. On these treasure hunts I have discovered many older titles I missed. I’ve discovered some amazing new- to- me authors and reconnected with some old favorites. It was fun to try and collect my fifty states and I read some books I might not have read, had I not needed those states.

I met the goal of reading fifty books more than a week ahead of schedule. I feel great about that. However, I only managed 39 of the 50 states. Finding some books that were not set in the USA, but that I could not resist, I ventured across the ocean to England, Israel, and the Netherlands. I visited Maine, New Mexico and Virginia twice this year. Sadly, there were two books I had to abandon after a couple of chapters. Life is too short to read books that don’t hold my interest!

I read so many wonderful books this year that I gave 5-Star ratings for content, writing style and characters, that it would be hard to narrow it down to a favorite. But there were three that I rated 5-Plus. These three books will stay with me for a long time and earn a permanent place on my book shelf.

Favorite #3

Favorite #2

Favorite #1

I would have to say this heartwarming story of unlikely friendships was my number one favorite book of the year for its characters, content and being an all-around incredibly written story:

(I also read through the entire New Testament this year, but that was part of a different challenge 😊)

And so another year of books is, as they say, in the books. I am thinking of trying the Alphabet Challenge in 2024. Only half as many this time because I have projects of my own simmering on back burners that need my attention. But since I am the type who needs to finish what I start… Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, Nevada, and Utah – I will catch up with you soon!

Comment and let me know about your reading challenge, or what your favorite books were this year 😊

2 thoughts on “50 Books/50 States

  1. Great job on you state challenge. I agree that the One in a Million Boy is a great story (for crumb sake). If others read the book they will see why I wrote that comment. 🙂 One of my favorite books of the year was, “The Little Things” by none other than M. Jean Pike. Another favorite was “The Incredible Winston Browne” by Sean Dietrich and a third favorite was “Remarkably Bright Creatures” by Shelby Van Pelt. Happy Reading to all!

Leave a comment